Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, elit eget consectetuer adipiscing aenean dolor

Host City: La Plata

LA PLATA is an Argentine city, capital of the province of Buenos Aires and head of the homonymous party. It is located 34,80 miles southeast of the city of Buenos Aires. It is the fourth most populous city in the country and the fifth city with more inhabitants. It is frequently nicknamed as “City of Diagonals”. It is also called “the Athens of America”.

La Plata is the main political, administrative and educational center of the province of Buenos Aires. The city has a population of 753,378 inhabitants and its urban agglomeration, the Great La Plata, composed of the parties of La Plata, Ensenada and Berisso, with a population of 899,523 inhabitants.

This planned city is recognized by its layout, a perfect square, in which is inscribed a historical axis; as well as the outstanding design of the diagonals that cross it forming pyramids and diamonds within its outline; forests and squares placed accurately every six blocks.

In the city of La Plata there are a total of 13 institutions of higher level. The National University of La Plata (UNLP) is one of the most important Argentine national universities and the biggest one situated in the city of La Plata, capital of Buenos Aires Province.

The institution began operations on April 18, 1897, as the Universidad Provincial de La Plata with Dr. Dardo Rocha as its rector. In 1905, the Minister of Justice and Public Education of the government of Manuel Quintana, decided to nationalize it. Today the university holds one of the most important paleontological and anthropological collections in South America.


The National University of La Plata (UNLP)currently has 135,803 students, with an academic offer of 110 careers offered in 17 faculties. It has a total of 3240 teachers and 4964 researchers. At the same time, the institution offers 200 postgraduates degrees and has 5 pre-university colleges. In the 480.000m2 of university there are 154 research centers, 24 libraries, 20 thematic museums, 1 astronomical observatory, 1 planetarium and 1 sports center with swimming pool, bodybuilding gymnasium, and rugby, football, handball and basketball fields.